Our History

The Teulada Moraira Lions Club was Chartered on the 9th September 1994.

It was the first English speaking Lions Club to be formed on mainland Spain.

In its first year a total of 845 pesetas was raised by holding raffles and selling unwanted items at rastros etc. One of the first beneficiaries of the Club’s generosity was the Raquel Paya School for the disabled in Denia. Eight bicycles were acquired, repaired and then delivered to extremely appreciative children.

From its humble fundraising beginnings the Club has now raised in excess of €300,000 since formation. In 2004 the Club was instrumental in coordinating the collection of more than €40,000 towards the Tsunami Appeal in the Indian Ocean.

Original meeting place was the Bar Mediterraneo, Teulada before moving in 2002 to Restaurant Los Leones, Moraira then onto Restaurant El Corregidor in 2010. We moved in 2013 to our current meeting place at the IMED Centre in Teulada.

In 2004, the Club was delighted to welcome the Alcalde of Teulada Moraira, Jose Ciscar as an Honorary Member of the Club. His successor, Antoni Bertomeu and current Alcalde, Carlos Linares, have also become Honorary Members.

As part of its commitment to the growth of Lionism in Spain, the Club has sponsored in recent years the formation of new Lions Clubs in:-

Mazzaron, Torrevieja, Jalon & Orba and Calpe & Benissa.

We also sponsored the formation of the very first Leo’s Club in Spain, based at the Laude Lady Elizabeth School in nearby Lliber.

In 2008, we welcomed our first lady member.

We regularly welcome visiting Associate Lions from other countries, who make a great contribution to all the work that we undertake.

Our Past Presidents

George Smith 1994-95, Claude Kelly 1995-96, Harold Lewis 1996-97,

Frederick Barnes 1997-98, Alan Redstone 1998-99, David Peet 1999-00,

Barry Saunders 2000-01, Harold Lewis 2001-02, John Harding 2002-03,

George Smith 2003-04, Ian Pearson 2004-05, Mike Waddington 2005-06,

Tom Archer 2006-07, John Evans 2007-08, John Hughes 2008-09,

John Snell 2009-10, Robert Young 2010-11, Nico Dekkers 2011-12,

Peter Johnson 2012-13, Ann Colclough 2013-14, Colin Lilley 2014-15,

David Platt 2015-16, David Platt 2016-17